Skip to main content

Style Options

Layout Style

Colors schema



Choose Your Language



The Hajj

The Hajj is an annual Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, and a mandatory religious duty for Muslims that must be carried out at least once in their lifetime by all adult Muslims who are physically and financially capable of undertaking the journey, and can support their family during their absence.  It is the largest gathering of people in the world.  In 2016 the Hajj begins September 8 and lasts until September 13.

The pilgramage consists of;

Stop 1 (a)  walking around (counter clockwise) the Kabba 7 times

           (b)   runs back and forth between the hills of Al-Safa and Al-Marwah,

           (c)  drinks from the Zamzam Well,

Stop 2     Mina

Stop 3     goes to the plains of Mount Arafat to stand in vigil,

Stop 4     spends a night in the plain of Muzdalifa,

Stop 5   (a)  performs symbolic stoning of the devil by throwing stones at three pillars.

             (b)  The pilgrims then shave their heads, perform a ritual of animal sacrifice, and celebrate the three-day global festival of Eid al-Adha.

Stop 6   Return to Kabba